Fervor and Hue in Cornmarket Centre

When I first moved to Cork city about a decade ago, sourcing fun home decor items was a challenge. There was no HomeSense, TKMaxx, and especially no Fervor & Hue. I must admit, I LOVE Fervor & Hue. It is calm and well presented, with the items displayed in uncluttered, but fun ways. When my friend Steve started the shop, I couldn’t wait to see what it would stock and I was thrilled when the four walls were filled with home decor and gift items rich with personality and style.

Tucked in the Cornmarket Centre with Lidl, TKMaxx, and De Calf Cafe, Fervor & Hue is a source of whimsy and style. But you wouldn’t know it from the outside. It’s like a toy chest… for home decor-obsessed grownups like myself.

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

The only thing I wanted for my birthday was a pink Eames-style chair for my desk. It is practical yet fun, like me. But then Christmas came quickly on the heels of my birthday and we were back to Fervor & Hue again for more shopping.

From statement pieces, like tall lanterns with electric (child- and pet-safe) candles to beautiful artificial floral arrangements that will carry you through winter into spring and beyond.

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

And lots of things that you can grab and be done with in terms of hostess or family gifts.

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

Right now, they have the must fun clocks. If I had a mantle, you can bet one of these would find its way to be showcased there.

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

This one is kinda my favorite. Industrial retro is a thing, right?

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

You can never have too many toss pillows when you have kids who love building pillow forts. I’ll take one of each. For kids, of course. But the bird ones are my favorites!

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

There is an entire line of animal paintings here that are fun and vibrant. Whether you love cows or dogs or giraffes, this place has just the piece for you and they are hand finished for under €50, which is amazing.

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

Christmas shopping in Cork city IrelandOr if you don’t have the wall space, get a dog on a mug.

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

Now, in all seriousness, this is probably one of my super favorite items in the shop. I am not sure if I would hang it to store yarn or make a rustic dollhouse with it.

Christmas shopping in Cork city Ireland

Basically, every trip to Fervor & Hue makes me wish I had a house. It’s so cool with someone local, like Steve, decides to invest in the community with a shop. But it’s pretty lucky when the shop stocks a range of useful and fun things. So, shop local.

I know this sounds like a big old ad, but I just love the place and I’ve been meaning to write about it for over a year now. Glad I finally did because selfishly I want Fervor & Hue to thrive so when I finally do get a house, I can outfit my place with paintings of animals wearing headphones and a gazillion cheerful toss pillows. My room will totally have a dedicated room for pillow forts.

Where is your favorite place to get fun gift or home items in Cork city?

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

I’m Evin

evin bail okeeffe

Welcome to ’40 Shades of…’, my corner of the internet dedicated to chronicling my move to and life in Ireland as an American. Here, I invite you to join me on my journey and learn what it’s like to move abroad, leave the United States, and live like a local in Cork city.

Let’s connect