The American Love of Being Irish

Leave a comment

March 16, 2017 by Evin

There is a truth to being an expat that you may be a local, but will always be a bit of an outsider looking in. I am totally American to everyone here in Ireland. Nearly nine years has not earned me a place as an Irish person, but I understand maybe I have not earned it yet. Though my boys were born here and the older one has a clear accent. He tells me he needs to go to the bathroom… in Irish. So, at home we are a medley of cultures and it suits us. I am proud to be an American. It is part of my melting pot upbringing and genetic composition.

When I go home though, my brain has been retrained by Irish life so when someone says “My husband is Irish.” I actually think her husband is Irish, of Ireland, with parents and family still in Ireland. But, no. I used to accept that Irish or Italian meant descent in America, but living abroad has made me even prouder of my American heritage. My ancestors fought in the American revolution, civil war, and helped earn the life they worked hard to create. It has contributed to who I am and I love that. It has been about 160 years since my family lived in Ireland, and now I am doing it again, but as an outsider.

So, when an American arrives in Ireland for vacation and says, “I am one-seventh Irish, we could be cousins.”, the Irish roll their eyes a bit. It is one of those big secrets that no one puts in the tourism commercials, but it is out there and present.

 For the week that we're in, a few things from my bookcase. This vintage Killarney travel book is over 100 years old. A gift from an Irishman when I moved here nearly nine years ago. We met on Cork Culture Night and he insisted I become the book's new cust//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js

Here are related articles and forums that discuss this in case you don’t believe me:

Why do people in Ireland not consider an Irish American to be Irish?

Why do Americans want to be Irish?

Why do North Americans love Ireland so much?

11 things Irish people desperately need Americans to know

What do the Irish call us when we come to visit? We being Americans of Irish decent, not born in Ireland.

Why do Americans always insist they’re Irish/Scottish?

What say you?

 

 

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

FreckledPast on Twitter 40 Shades of Life on Facebook Freckledpast on Instagram

Topics

Nine Years of Posts

Where to Eat Brunch in Cork City, Ireland
Life as an American in Ireland
EvinOK.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,051 other followers

BrunchCork on Twitter
Local Yarn Stores in Cork, Ireland
Second-hand Stores in Cork, Ireland
FreckledPast on Ravelry Irish Food Blogger Association blog awards irelandblog awards irelandExpat in Cork Trip Advisor Expat.com
March 2017
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Apr »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
