Knockout Pizza at Cork Jazz Weekend Market

1

October 25, 2014 by Evin

I’m jet-lagged from the long visit to the States and tiring trip back, so this morning I finally went out in search of sustenance. With the Guinness Cork Jazz Festival this weekend, I had plenty of options. My usual falafel wrap guy wasn’t at the Cornmarket Saturday market, so I went browsing for something new. Fortunate for me, there is a special Jazz Festival weekend market in Emmet Square so I walked over and checked out my options, which is where I saw this…

Knockout Pizza of Ballincollig, Co.Cork, Ireland at Guinness Cork Jazz Festival

I love wood-fired clay (or brick) ovens for my pizza. This behemoth oven photographs smaller, but is probably the size of an infant crib. Much heavier though. And there were John Deasy and James Deasy (aka Knockout Pizza) just waiting to cook me up a pizza. Ok, so they weren’t waiting for me specifically. But they looked ready to make pizza and there was no queue because it was before the music had started on the adjacent stage, so I felt fortunate.

Knockout Pizza of Ballincollig, Co.Cork, Ireland at Guinness Cork Jazz Festival

I checked out the menu and mentally noted that the pizza was larger than what Uncle Pete serves up and for about the same price. Gotta love that!

Knockout Pizza of Ballincollig, Co.Cork, Ireland at Guinness Cork Jazz Festival

I chose the Roast Vegetable and Goats Cheese pizza and away they went making it and putting in that glorious clay oven. Within minutes, I was enjoying my homemade pizza. I was not disappointed. The crust was soft with an outer crunch and the texture was not mass-produced. The roast butternut squash and caramelised onions offered a delicate sweetness to balance the peppery rocket. All pulled together by the creamy goats cheese. And it was topped with freshly shaved parmesan cheese. Just lovely!

Z is for... jaZZy piZZa. Perfect #CorkJazz fuel... Freshly made pizza from #KnockoutPizza by the stage at #Cork Opera House and Crawford Gallery. So yummy!

Go. Now. Eat. While it’s hot.

James Deasy and John Deasy’s Knockout Pizza is based in Ballincollig but baking traditional wood-fired clay oven artisan pizzas everywhere for functions and corporate events. You can stalk their clay oven find out which festivals they’ll be at on their Facebook page.

knockoutpizzacork@gmail.com
087 6883138
087 3812624

Knockout Pizza of Ballincollig, Co.Cork, Ireland at Guinness Cork Jazz Festival

I didn’t get paid to write this, I just liked it so much I wanted to tell you about it.

One thought on “Knockout Pizza at Cork Jazz Weekend Market

  1. That looks so good. It is great to see so many food stands and events like this popping up in Cork. I love going to these types of things in Berlin but never really did in Cork. I think a few years ago there weren’t so many around or maybe I was just turning a blind eye. I look forward to scouting out things like this at Christmas.

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

FreckledPast on Twitter 40 Shades of Life on Facebook Freckledpast on Instagram

Topics

Where to Eat Brunch in Cork City, Ireland
Life as an American in Ireland
EvinOK.com

Eight Years of Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,978 other followers

BrunchCork on Twitter
Local Yarn Stores in Cork, Ireland
Second-hand Stores in Cork, Ireland
FreckledPast on Ravelry Irish Food Blogger Association blog awards irelandblog awards irelandExpat in Cork Trip Advisor Expat.com
October 2014
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  
