Expat Baby Shower in Ireland

1

August 26, 2014 by Evin

Ireland doesn’t do baby showers. Maybe it is seen as bad luck to celebrate something yet to happen, but since I was raised in the States, I like the idea so I wanted one. But I lived thousands of miles from all my relatives so my local Cork friends threw me a baby shower three years ago when I was expecting my son. And it was fabulous.

To me, showers (baby or bridal) are not about the gifts. It is about having the women in one’s life envelope and support the woman of the hour with words, love, experience, and encouragement just before a major life change. Welcoming a new person into one’s life, whether it be a husband or a child, is a huge change so who better to celebrate this with than women who have been through it and women who will be by your side as you go through it? And there is cake.

Kristin helped plan the entire event and she wrote a great blog post about it here, so go read that and then just browse these photos I took while nine months pregnant. Really, this is just a good way to introduce you to the idea in case you want to throw a baby shower for a friend or relative. Mine was woodland themed!

DSC_0045

The favours! Each contained spiced nuts. Here is the recipe.
Nuts About Baby

We decorated onesies I bought as the activity.
DSC_0043

DSC_0065

DSC_0075

 

DSC_0063

 

Oh and there was so much food! Plus a mimosa bar and a make-your-own bloody Mary bar. Not entirely pregnant lady friendly but I was outnumbered by many lovely non-pregnant friends so I didn’t mind.

DSC_0021

DSC_0027

DSC_0026

Toadstool radishes!
DSC_0024

DSC_0004

 

DSC_0034

DSC_0007

DSC_0023

DSC_0037

DSC_0040

Oh and desserts! I rarely take the time to really shout from the rooftops how amazing it is to have friends who can bake – and one who is gifted with sugar sculptures!!! I ate the little creatures, but wish I had saved them for his Christening cake.

DSC_0020

DSC_0018

 

DSC_0014

DSC_0017

DSC_0012

The mimosa bar.
DSC_0025

DSC_0089

One thought on “Expat Baby Shower in Ireland

  1. […] Showers Don’t Exist – I covered this one in a post before, so HERE is the link. Because Irish families are big and expansive, usually gifts are not necessary to […]

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

FreckledPast on Twitter 40 Shades of Life on Facebook Freckledpast on Instagram

Topics

Where to Eat Brunch in Cork City, Ireland
Life as an American in Ireland
EvinOK.com

Eight Years of Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,968 other followers

BrunchCork on Twitter
Local Yarn Stores in Cork, Ireland
Second-hand Stores in Cork, Ireland
FreckledPast on Ravelry Irish Food Blogger Association blog awards irelandblog awards irelandExpat in Cork Trip Advisor Expat.com
August 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
