Go on, go on, go on

4

July 14, 2012 by Evin

Before moving to Ireland, I watched a couple episodes of Father Ted. It was entertaining, but not hilarious as I had heard a few Irish acquaintances rave. Oh well, not all cult favorites are funny to everyone, right? After living in Ireland for a few months I gave it another try and I was laughing so hard I started crying and actually rolled off the sofa onto the floor! Same goes for Black Books, actually.

For those readers in the U.S., Father Ted is a television series captures quirks, humor, and hilarity that seems to be uniquely Irish – or I would have ‘gotten’ the humor back in the States. And some of the lines from Father Ted have seeped into every facet of culture and conversation. Just yesterday, I was having tea with someone and she commented ‘Down with that sort of thing.’

If you fancy yourself Irish or feel you understand Irish culture and have not seen Father Ted, go on and buy it already. Go on. Go on. Go on. Available from Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.com and just about any decent DVD shop in Ireland. It may even be streaming online somewhere like 4oD or RTE.

4 thoughts on “Go on, go on, go on

  1. […] be all about stews and potatoes and stout here but scones and tea really are tops. Even on Father Ted! You should have seen the looks I got when I asked about lemon scones or flavored scones. Gasp! The […]

  2. HollyTron says:

    Haha! I’m quite fond of the regional “G’wan” myself!
    (And anything that Graham Linehan has been involved with is pure gold as far as I’m concerned!)

  3. I’ve been starting to watch Father Ted on Netflix. I’m already a pretty huge Black Books fan ~ Dylan Moran is one of my fave’s. Great post!!

  4. Arlene says:

    Hmm, I’ll have to try it again then. I watched it when I first came here and just did not get it. Five years later, I’m sure I will 🙂

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

FreckledPast on Twitter 40 Shades of Life on Facebook Freckledpast on Instagram

Topics

Where to Eat Brunch in Cork City, Ireland
Life as an American in Ireland
EvinOK.com

Eight Years of Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,968 other followers

BrunchCork on Twitter
Local Yarn Stores in Cork, Ireland
Second-hand Stores in Cork, Ireland
FreckledPast on Ravelry Irish Food Blogger Association blog awards irelandblog awards irelandExpat in Cork Trip Advisor Expat.com
July 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  
