Luck of the Irish or Counting My Blessings?

Until last month, I had never purchased a lottery ticket, played a slot machine, or placed a bet outside a race course. Then I felt lucky.

Horseshoe Patina

It all started with my winning a giveaway from Irish Food Bloggers Association. I won a hardcover copy of SABA: The Cookbook and a voucher for a Thai cooking day in Dublin. Then I won a trivia contest on Twitter from the American Embassy in Dublin which resulted a care package of books including: The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream by Barack Obama, a double-flag Ireland-U.S. lapel pin, a copy of the U.S. Constitution with explanation notes, a paperback of full and partial speeches by President Barack Obama, and a mini biography of our 44th president. Within a week of that win, I won four tickets to the Cork screening of The Muppets film from Innocent Ireland. In the midst of all this winning, I began to think I may be on a lucky streak so why not buy a lottery ticket. Sure, why not?! So I bought one ticket twice a week for two weeks. I won €4. In spite of the fizzle of success with the lottery, the lucky streak continued in my everyday life. I got a double egg yolk in my salad at Fresco Bistro, won a blog giveaway on Modern Farmette of a Slugs & Snails prize, and even won a Valentine’s Tulip bouquet (shown below) from Unforgettable Flowers while at a Cork Women in Business event. Seriously, it was getting ridiculous [and quite nice since as a new mother I certainly could do with a bit of pampering].

DSC_0979©

It was about then that I realized that maybe the universe wasn’t trying to tell me I would win big if I played the lottery, I think it was trying to communicate that life is full of luck and happy surprises if you put yourself out there. Because, if you think about it, all the things I won are because I participate in life. Then I realized that maybe all this winning and nice things coming my way wasn’t telling me to look for MORE luck but to feel fortunate for what I have.

Whether you believe in luck or not, most people think the Irish have a special and personal connection with luck so here’s my family’s scone recipe. Best served with Irish butter, delicious jam, and maybe some unsweetened whipped cream (the real stuff)…and a cup of tea!

Sullivan Farm Scones

4 cups all-purpose flour
5 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup dried cranberries, raisins, or favorite dried fruit (if a large fruit, chop into bits)
2 eggs
2 cups milk

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

2. Sift dry ingredients (flour, baking powder, salt, sugar) together. Add dried cranberries and 1 cup milk. Mix together.

3. In a small bowl, pour the remaining 1 cup of milk and add both eggs. Beat together then pour into larger bowl to blend with dry ingredients.

4. Transfer the scone dough into a 10” cast iron skillet or cut into triangles and place on a baking sheet. Brush the top with milk and bake in the oven for 30 minutes to 1 hour (depending on whether you put in individual scones or one big one).

5. Slice and serve with a selection of jams, honey, and butter. Best enjoyed alongside a cup of tea.

Sullivan Family Scone Recipe

One thought on “Luck of the Irish or Counting My Blessings?

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

