Ask Evin – What is the Irish equivalent of baking soda?

1

April 4, 2011 by Evin

Last month, a fellow expat messaged me because my Cooking Peas & Q’s food blog gave her the hope I could answer this Irish cooking question.

LETTER FROM CHRISTINA

Hey Evin,
I know you’re a big foodie. I am trying to make a nice V-Day dinner tomorrow for my hubby and need baking soda for the dessert. Problem is I can NEVER find it in the store, I heard it was called something else here. Do you know what it’s called and would Tesco or something like that carry it?? Oh the joys of grocery shopping in Ireland 🙂

Christina


RESPONSE FROM ME
Hi Christina,
You want ‘bicarbonate of soda’ to use as baking soda.
If, however, you need baking powder and can’t find it, here is the formula to make it:

3 teaspoons baking powder = 1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda + 2 teaspoons cream of tartar

Here’s my recipe blog, for future reference: http://cookingpeasandqs.wordpress.com/ – I also share recipes at EvinOK.com
Though it is sometimes a challenge grocery shopping in a foreign country, it is also exciting to see all the new options and exotic (to me) ingredients. There are so many amazing things here that I’ve come to love.
Happy Baking!
Evin

Irish Baking Ingredients

One thought on “Ask Evin – What is the Irish equivalent of baking soda?

  1. Shannon says:

    my biggest thing was finding corn starch…. and discovering it’s called corn flour here. Just happened upon your blog today and will have fun reading, i’m sure. I’m also an American expat – living just outside of Fermoy 🙂

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

FreckledPast on Twitter 40 Shades of Life on Facebook Freckledpast on Instagram

Topics

Nine Years of Posts

Where to Eat Brunch in Cork City, Ireland
Life as an American in Ireland
EvinOK.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,062 other followers

BrunchCork on Twitter
Local Yarn Stores in Cork, Ireland
Second-hand Stores in Cork, Ireland
FreckledPast on Ravelry Irish Food Blogger Association blog awards irelandblog awards irelandExpat in Cork Trip Advisor Expat.com
April 2011
S M T W T F S
« Mar   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
