My New Year’s Resolutions for 2011

4

January 9, 2011 by Evin

Wow, I  have not written a blog post since last year! Madness. Well, know that you were never far from my thoughts. My husband and I realized that if we couldn’t be with our families for Christmas week, we should have an adventure! Which we did with a week in Morocco. It was amazing. The last-minute prices for Sunway can be outlandishly reasonable.

Other than Morocco, I’ve been doing the usual consulting work, knitting A LOT, and getting over food poisoning. As you can imagine, it was surreal to not have an appetite for a week!

Now about this whole new year thing. It’s 2011. That seems so far in the future for my childhood self yet it is today and yesterday and tomorrow. I have a feeling this will be a good year. To make sure it is as good as it can be I have my New Year’s Resolutions. Not that it takes January 1st to make a change since I actually started accepting this next step in my life a few weeks ago just after I celebrated my birthday. So, are you just dying to know what my resolutions are? Yeah, I didn’t think so, but I’m telling you anyway:

1) No drama. I’ve had a lifetime of drama in my thirty-some years on earth and it’s over. No more patience, energy, or interest in solving problems that don’t really want to be solved. That is what drama is, after all. The issues that keep coming because they are not one-off dilemmas to be resolved and tucked away in a filing cabinet of forgotten problems. Drama is like having a playing card on your bike spokes and constantly having a ‘tick-tick-tick’ noise hounding you. Well, I’ve taken the playing card off my bicycle and am riding in peace. Sure, drama still exists and problems will still arise, but instead of facing it emotionally I will face it logically to solve it or move on. Most importantly, I won’t take anyone else’s drama home with me. I respect my friends too much to try to solve their problems. They are grown women and men who are strong, capable, and mature enough to deal with whatever life throws at them. In part, resisting the drama is letting go and accepting that I cannot help everyone, make all people happy, or control the little things.

2) More laughter. When I was a kid, I laughed and laughed. They say a toddler or child laughs hundreds of times a day, but adults laugh far less. This year, I am finding my belly laugh and putting it to good use again. Aligned with this is my intent to see things anew and not take experiences for granted. Of course children laugh all the time, everything is new, interesting, and hilarious – plus when something is odd instead of internalizing it and thinking how it effects them, kids play with it and laugh about it. That’s what I want to do. I think it will also fuel me creatively to stop pigeonholing the world and my daily experiences into existing memories. Every day is new and everything I am about to do is new for that moment, so it’s about time I approach it that way. No expectations, just openminded enthusiasm tempered with a reasonable understanding of safety and common sense. This year, I’m going to do things for the fun of it and not be ashamed to do so.

3) Taking what I do seriously. So often I shrug off something I’ve written, created, or done as being banal or routine. No longer. If I write a well-researched article and someone tells me so, I will say ‘Thank you, I appreciate that.’ not ‘Oh, it was nothing.’ Well, that’s just one example, but 2011 welcomes an attitude adjustment so I see my work as contributing to the world at-large even in its own minor way. That having been said, I WILL NOT take myself seriously. That is the beginning of the end of this whole youthful glow of sunshine and puppies I have going on in my head. I will hopefully never ever take myself seriously, just what I do, create, and nurture.

4) Invest in me. This is a long time coming, but for those of you who’ve seen my Ravelry knitting projects you know I always knit for everyone else. That approach translates to other aspects of my life. I don’t want to change that, because considering others is part of who I am, but I need to balance that with considering myself. Not selfishness even, just balance. Each of us is like a plant that needs tending to and nurturing. You may shed leaves to feed other plants or lend shade to the garden, but you need to take care of yourself too. In an ongoing way (and most challenging way), this also means I am going to carve out time for exercise to invest in my future health.

I know things come in three’s and five’s usually, but four is how it is for my 2011 resolutions. I don’t expect to master them overnight, the important thing is that I’ll stick with trying to master them. Isn’t that all any of us can expect from our resolutions?

What are your resolutions?

Flying the Irish Skies

4 thoughts on “My New Year’s Resolutions for 2011

  1. homespunlife says:

    Love your blog, Evin, and thanks for commenting on mine! My husband and I yearn to be American ex-pats living in Ireland. *sigh*

    I tend not to make big resolutions. It gets too depressing as they fall by the wayside. Instead I make little goals. Last year my goal was to knit my first pair of socks. Yeah. Didn’t happen. Guess what my goal is for this year? (Hint: I love to recycle.)

    Looking forward to following your posts and tweets in the future!
    Tess

  2. Suzi says:

    Those sound like excellent resolutions. 🙂 My resolution is just to get housework under control. I figure, new apartment = blank slate.

    Tess, good luck with the socks. When I came to my first heel I just decided to put blind faith in the instructions even though they made no sense, and suddenly it just worked.

  3. homespunlife says:

    Thanks, Suzi. I have a gut feeling that you are right. Just keep knitting and hope for the best.

  4. Evin says:

    Sounds like a good idea for a New Year’s Resolution – have more faith, even if only in the pattern designer. Good luck with the second-annual ‘Resolution Socks’.

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

FreckledPast on Twitter 40 Shades of Life on Facebook Freckledpast on Instagram

Topics

Where to Eat Brunch in Cork City, Ireland
Life as an American in Ireland
EvinOK.com

Eight Years of Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,973 other followers

BrunchCork on Twitter
Local Yarn Stores in Cork, Ireland
Second-hand Stores in Cork, Ireland
FreckledPast on Ravelry Irish Food Blogger Association blog awards irelandblog awards irelandExpat in Cork Trip Advisor Expat.com
January 2011
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
