Expat Perspectives

3

May 31, 2010 by Evin

So, I’ve noticed that even though I am an American who has lived in Ireland for two years, my posts tend to be more about my new life than about the transition as an expat. The only explanation is that when I moved here, I embraced our new life completely and instead of paying attention to the changes, I let myself be enveloped by Cork City happenings, Irish culture, and local cuisine. And these things embraced me back! But I am beginning to realize that if/when I move back to the States, I will be in for some major culture shock. For this reason, I am going to start posting more about the differences in culture so that I can remind myself what it’s like back in the good old U S of A and you all can have a glimpse into how life is uniquely special in America and in Ireland. All the posts will be categorized as Expat Perspectives and I will also try to include practical things and cultural insights. As always, my posts will be rich with links to other blogs, outside resources, and related merchandise.

Can You Hear The Wind Blowing?

3 thoughts on “Expat Perspectives

  1. the culture shock going back isn’t fun. there isn’t a day that i don’t miss living in cork!

  2. Amy Snow says:

    I experienced the culture shock going to America for only a few weeks at a time. I’d love to hear your view on the differences!

  3. Thea says:

    I’m looking forward to reading about it, and I’m very curious how different your experiences in Dublin are from mine in Newcastle and Edinburgh.

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

FreckledPast on Twitter 40 Shades of Life on Facebook Freckledpast on Instagram

Topics

Where to Eat Brunch in Cork City, Ireland
Life as an American in Ireland
EvinOK.com

Eight Years of Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,975 other followers

BrunchCork on Twitter
Local Yarn Stores in Cork, Ireland
Second-hand Stores in Cork, Ireland
FreckledPast on Ravelry Irish Food Blogger Association blog awards irelandblog awards irelandExpat in Cork Trip Advisor Expat.com
May 2010
S M T W T F S
« Apr   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  
