Star of the Sea, a Good Read for Irish-Americans

1

January 1, 2010 by Evin

This Christmas, I gave my Irish-American husband Star of the Sea by Joseph O’Connor. Like most people, his leisure reading time is limited, but when a book captures his interest it pulls him back at every spare moment to read. Star of the Sea did just that!  Though it can by no means be considered a light read, he enjoyed it and the detail-rich experience that Irish would have had as famine era immigrants heading to America.

Photo by Stephen Orsillo

One thought on “Star of the Sea, a Good Read for Irish-Americans

  1. hip chick says:

    Hi. I just found your blog. I am also Irish-American. I grew up in New England where I still live. I did live for a time on the west coast. I visited Ireland over the summer and we did go through cork although we were not able to stop there. My mother’s family is from Cork.
    Also, when I was a small girl I went to a school called Star of the Sea.
    I guess we have a few things in common.
    I would move to Ireland in a heart beat if it were possible for me.

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

FreckledPast on Twitter 40 Shades of Life on Facebook Freckledpast on Instagram

Topics

Where to Eat Brunch in Cork City, Ireland
Life as an American in Ireland
EvinOK.com

Eight Years of Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5,978 other followers

BrunchCork on Twitter
Local Yarn Stores in Cork, Ireland
Second-hand Stores in Cork, Ireland
FreckledPast on Ravelry Irish Food Blogger Association blog awards irelandblog awards irelandExpat in Cork Trip Advisor Expat.com
January 2010
S M T W T F S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
