Hot Chocolate at O’Conaill Chocolates

7

November 27, 2008 by Evin

O’Conaill Chocolates and Butler’s are the sweetest spots in Cork City. Personally, there is a special place in my heart for local and family businesses, so I took my visiting dad to O’Conaill’s for hot chocolate. Since I come by my appreciation for chocolate honestly, my dad was up for the gastronomic adventure (and since he helped give me life, the least I can do is give him chocolate). What I had been told was that O’Conaill’s was a perfect place to purchase chocolate gifts, such as chocolate candies or hot chocolate kits, and they have local designs, including a chocolate fish modeled after Goldie (the gold salmon who stands guard atop St. Ann’s Shandon Bell Tower).

We went mid-morning hoping to get breakfast, but discovered they do not have scones or bread items. We forgave this since they have plenty of chocolate (in all shapes and sizes) and ordered two regular milk chocolate hot chocolates because the hot beverage options were a bit overwhelming on an empty stomach. We then went to enjoy the cozy seating upstairs and after a few minutes one of the staff brought them to us. After photographing our beautifully and deliciously filled tall glass mugs for several minutes, we enjoyed our still hot delicious drinks. They are served with little chocolate chips (dark, white, and milk). Yummy! I am including a photo of mine.

I found the staff to be very nice. My dad asked if the chocolate itself was made on-site (I suspect he wanted to offer to lick their mixing bowl). The young women explained the chocolate is made in nearby Carrigaline (Co. Cork). We didn’t even get an eye roll when my dad asked to take a photo of the person who made the best hot chocolate he’d ever had. Now, keep in mind, this is coming from a man who has eaten Black Forest Cake IN a restaurant in the actual Black Forest! Just a little proud of him, can you tell?

This place reminded me of all the chilly December moments when I would be out and about (usually Christmas shopping) with my mom or dad and we’d decide to duck into a café to warm up with a mug of hot cocoa.

Since I don’t want you to miss out on this place, here is all the information…

O’Conaill Chocolates
Monday though Saturday, 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Sunday, 11:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
+353 (0) 21 4373407

16 French Church Street (off Paul Street, near Tesco), Cork City – Get Directions

Here is another helpful review (two actually), Conaill’s reviews on TripAdvisor’s Local Picks, and click here to read Some Say Cocoa Some Say Cacao’s review of their O’Conaill’s experience and see a photograph of the menu.

Milk Chocolate Hot Chocolate at O'Conaill's in Cork City

Milk Chocolate Hot Chocolate at O’Conaill Chocolate Shop

7 thoughts on “Hot Chocolate at O’Conaill Chocolates

  1. evin says:

    I went back last week and enjoyed their Dark Chocolate Hot Chocolate and it was DELICIOUS!!!

  2. evin says:

    Yesterday, I purchased a dark chocolate hot chocolate to-go to bring to the Triskel showing of ‘It’s A Wonderful Life’ and instead of chocolate chips, the beverage comes with a chocolate on a stick (like a lolly). Quite delicious.

  3. […] O’Connail’s Chocolates (for hot chocolate or coffee)  […]

  4. […] idea, but we’re wondering why they chose to open on French Church Street… right next-door to O’Conaill’s Chocolates. I can’t imagine opting to drink a Cadbury-based hot chocolate at Hot Shakes if I could have one […]

  5. Declan says:

    I miss Cork when I see things like this. Also shopping in the English market.

  6. Ashwini says:

    You are so right! I live in Cork, and my visit to the city centre is always incomplete without a visit to O Conaill’s. Every drink is intoxicating.:)

  7. Chocoholic says:

    Then you will love Eve Chocolates at Dennehy’s Cross. A hidden gem, it’s in the little industrial estate by the cross and has a HUGE selection of chocolate items, made on site.

Enough about me. What are you thinking?

FreckledPast on Twitter 40 Shades of Life on Facebook Freckledpast on Instagram

Topics

Nine Years of Posts

Where to Eat Brunch in Cork City, Ireland
Life as an American in Ireland
EvinOK.com

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,064 other followers

BrunchCork on Twitter
Local Yarn Stores in Cork, Ireland
Second-hand Stores in Cork, Ireland
FreckledPast on Ravelry Irish Food Blogger Association blog awards irelandblog awards irelandExpat in Cork Trip Advisor Expat.com
November 2008
S M T W T F S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
